Chris Knipp Writing: Movies, Politics, Art

Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 1 post ] 
PostPosted: Tue Oct 05, 2021 10:55 pm 
Site Admin

DAN STEVENS AND MAREN EGGERT IN I'M YOUR MAN

Sci-fi rom-com from Germany with a bittersweet finale

The theme of a robotic lover is an oft-treated one. It's taken a bit more seriously and literally this time, which undermines both the comedy and the science fiction aspects of the film, but if you pay close attention, it may provoke new insights. Ich bin dein Mensch, a German film, was introduced at the Berlinale, appropriately enough (it's also set in Berlin) and did well there. It opened in US theaters last week. The title in English, a reviewer pointed out, echoes a Leonard Cohen song, which he thought a risky place to start. This was lost on me since I'm not good at songs and know little of Leonard Cohen. It seems an even greater loss that I knew nothing of Dan Stevens, who plays the robot, Tom. To have been aware that he is known to everyone as a posh charmer from "Downton Abbey" and as someone versatile in various roles since would have made this new stretch cooler to experience, no doubt. It's fun to see an actor you know and like in a totally new role, and nailing it.